Street Shots: Chinatown

M. James Thompson

Location | Chinatown, Chicago, IL, USA

Last week I had the opportunity to spend a very cold and wet day in Chicago’s Chinatown neighborhood with a group of photographers that I met through Craigslist and Instagram. I had been looking for an opportunity to test out a newly acquired Canon 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM lens and I love shooting street scenes with my Canon 200mm f/2.8L. Neither is a traditional street photography lens, but I have never been comfortable standing next to someone with a wide angle lens and letting go a flurry of shutter actuations. I always preferred to detach myself from people on the street so as to allow a comfortable space where the subjects can go about their business without even noticing me.

The 100-400 attached to a Canon 1.4x II is an absolute beast of a lens and from the Chinatown Red Line platform I was able to reach into the downtown area and capture some wonderful scenes of the CTA lines framing condo and business buildings. The zoom range brought distant pedestrians into frame from an angle far above the street level. I was only planning on keeping this lens for a few weeks, but it may become a permanent companion in my gear bag.

I am openly appealing to anyone who might be interested in printing and displaying my images.

Leave a Reply

