Walking Through Wuxi

M. James Thompson

One Fine Adventure: Wuxi, China

I recently read a great article by Darwin Wigget about the challenges  and misuse of wide angle lenses. Even after years of shooting I continue to reach back to the early lessons of photography and make sure that I am applying all of the sensible advice I have picked up over the years. The wide angle is not an excuse to step back and try to fit everything in, but rather it is an opportunity to get in close to the subject and keep their surroundings in the frame. After selling my 24-105 L and picking up the 28 f/1.8 my love affair with primes is returning.

This shot was composed with knockoff Gorillapod and a ND 1000 filter. The streets of Wuxi move with all forms of transportation and each one was gunning for my camera. Sneaking in a 2 second shot while the lights took some timing, but the shot turned out well. The motion blur of cars, stationary e-bike riders and the ghost of a pedestrian on the right side all work together to fill the frame with the commotion of daily city life in China.

I am openly appealing to anyone who might be interested in printing and displaying my images.

To see the rest of the gallery and more images from around the world please visit M. James Thompson Photography

Leave a Reply

