Through the Windows

M. James Thompson

One Fine Adventure: Mandaluyoung, Manila, Philippines

This set of windows is from the living room of my new friend, Japs, who lives in Mandaluyoung, Manila, Philippines. He was gracious enough to open his home up to me while I was traveling and let me be a part of his life while I was visiting. He was incredibly gracious with his space and made time to show me around his city. I am looking forward to visiting again.

Through the Windows

Through the Windows is a continuing project that has been simmering on the back burner since I arrived in China. My goal is to display images of every day environments in foreign countries in order to help establish a common ground among people of varying countries, faiths, and beliefs. Some of my oldest memories are of my mother and grandmother in the kitchen or living room of our homes. Their silhouettes are etched my memory and were almost always framed by a window. At the most basic level of building a foundation for understanding I want to share the views of people who I have visited with while I am traveling.

These are the windows that open out into our worlds and as time marches on it is easy to forget that even the most beautiful landscapes can become ordinary if they are a part of a routine. My hope is that we can share a window into our lives with a community of people who are interested in learning about the lives of others. Through communication, open and honest dialogue, empathy, and understanding we can begin to see into the lives of people who we may never meet while also creating an introspective review of our own lives and reexamining ourselves as we continue to learn and grow.

To see the rest of the gallery and more images from around the world please visit M. James Thompson Photography

Leave a Reply

