Weekly Photo Challenge: Grand

Finding a photograph with the spacial, “Wow,” factor within a horizontally cropped frame is rare for me, but this picture was special as soon as I release the shutter. The solo hiker in the crater speaks to the adventurer in me and I immediately heard my mother, “You’re going alone, are you sure?” This image stops me every time I flip through my work from the Hawaiian Islands.
Being above the clouds is continually inspiring in my constant search for new images. Having the chance to go from the beach to above the clouds is an experience that few places in the world have to offer, but Maui offers both incredible beaches and world-class views in the clouds. The Haleakalā crater offers a wasteland in the foreground and the Big Island can be seen poking through the clouds in the background. The solo hiker gives a great perspective into the scale of the crater.

Leave a Reply

