The Streets of Jeju

 

M. James Thompson

One Fine Adventure: Jeju Island, South Korea

My time in China has been a mixture of chaos, cocktails and more street food than I have ever eaten before. The people have been incredibly different in each city that I visit, but I needed a break. More importantly I needed to renew my visa so a new port of call was in order. The standard renewal area for people in Shanghai is Hong Kong, but I have bigger plans for Hong Kong. This renewal trip would be a short three day excursion and I had my eye set on an island off of the southern coast of South Korea.

Hawaii was my last stop in the US on my way to China and Jeju has been called the Hawaii of Asia so it only seemed reasonable to try and find a small slice of the US while I escaped China for a few days. The island is a mess of tourists and shop keepers during the spring and summer months, the island’s beaches are gorgeous, but the autumn and winter are much slower. My mind and body were in search of a slowing of pace and an easing of the pressure that China has a difficult time providing. After reading about the street markets, small alleyways and hill-top towns on the outskirts of the cities along with a quiet island lifestyle and my backpack seemed to pack itself.

I am openly appealing to anyone who might be interested in printing and displaying my images.

To see the rest of the gallery and more images from around the world please visit M. James Thompson Photography

Leave a Reply

