Shakti Kendra

Throughout my time in India and Nepal I have been looking forward to today above just any other day. Today I am lucky enough to have been invited to a women’s shelter named Shakti Kendra in Kathmandu. This group has helped hundres of girls and women move out of forced labor and into mental and emotional rehabilitation. They also offer work skills in order to help the women live independently and with dignity.
The location offers some challenges in with shooting, but these kinds of hurdles are what make the experience and outcome so amazing. I won’t be able to shoot any of the girl’s or women’s faces directly. My mind has been going for the past week on exactly how to find the right shots. I’m hoping to spend time talking with the everyone about how they would like to be portrayed and doing my best to show them by their own terms. I’ll have test shots out soon. Take care everyone!

Leave a Reply

